Sunday, 15 March 2015

Weekly Newsletter 11 - 14 March 2015

Kimberley Golf Club Report 15 March 2015
Competitors were treated to an extraordinarily successful 2015 OJM Consulting Engineers Club Championships that culminated in a suspension filled sudden death playoff between Nico Jacobs and Andries Kori. Three times they headed back to the par five 18th tee. Three times they hit matching drives to the 150 meter marker. Ultimately it was Nico Jacobs who sank the required birdie putt on the final occasion to claim the Dewar Shield (1906) and his third successive championship title, a rear feat last achieved by Jimmy Nevin in 1954.
After the recent rains it was a testing course, narrow fairways skirted by a challenging semi and a heart breaking rough from which no one was exempt. So much so that despite a quality entry only six players broke 80 in the morning and only ten players achieved the same in the afternoon. Andries Kori took the lead in the morning carding a one over par 73, one ahead of Nico Jacobs on 74. At the turn in the afternoon his lead had increased to three, but a visit to the rough at the 17th took its due toll. His final round of 75 to Nico Jacobs’s 74 saw both players finish on 148. Stiaan Hugo was third on 150, Deon Kruis fourth on 151 and Keith Brown fifth on 152. In the afternoon Deon Kruis and Steve Turner posted the low rounds of the tournament, 72s. Steve Turner’s round rather more extraordinary than most in that he matched six drops and a double drop with eight birdies.
Ronnie Engelbrecht was presented with the Bonus Cup (1906) as a comfortable winner of the B division on 165, seven clear of the runner up Cedric van der Ross on 172 with Gavin van Zyl third on 173.
Jerome Rogerson received the Ricketts Cup (1905) having posted 70 individual stableford points over the two rounds to claim the C division, one ahead of the runner up Donathon Jennings on 69.
The Robert English Shield (1898) for the Best Net Overall went to Ronnie Engelbrecht on net 143. Fred Wyngaardt was second on 144.
The reinstated Prentice Memorial Trophy, age 19 – 22, was won by Hermus Venter on 161 gross.
The top 16 players go through to the 2015 Bob Klemp Shield, the Club’s matchplay championships.

A three way count out decided the Flamingo Casino Meat and Slots Niner on Friday afternoon with Luchmen Poonawassy first, Waldo Rost second and Fareez Alexander third. Mali Manana (20) and Dickie Thomas (19) were the remaining prize winners.

Machiel Cronje, Mali Manana and Kabelo Leburu were the Thursday KWV Niner winners.

Wednesday’s March 2015 Konica Minolta Business League outing saw Fires van Vuuren and Theo Fourie dominate proceedings. Finishing one and two in the individual section on 39 stableford points each their KGC team results, 46 betterball points, had them a full hole and a half ahead of the field with 42 betterball points the next best on offer. Teams OJM (OJ Miamane and Kabelo Leburo) and Burger Brokers (Barend Burger and Gavin Schaffer) were the remaining team prize winners.

This week the KGC offers the Darsha IPS Wednesday, the Spur Junior Challenge and the KWV Niner Thursday and the Flamingo Casino Meat and Slots Niner on Friday along with the CTCS snowball draw. At the weekend Saturday it is a standard club competition.                        

No comments:

Post a Comment